Who is the first man to travel into outer space?

Yuri Alekseyevich Gagarin was the first person in space. A Soviet cosmonaut, Gagarin made the historic trip on April 12, 1961, aboard the spacecraft Vostok 1. During the flight, the 27-year-old test pilot and industrial technician also became the first man to orbit the planet.