Do olives have to be refrigerated?

Unopened olive cans keep up to one year on a cool, dry shelf. Once you have open a can, store the olives completely submerged in their own liquid in a covered container in the refrigerator for one to two weeks. Olives bought in bulk and stored steeped in oil keep several months in the refrigerator.