How loud is a cricket?

Different types of crickets produce different volumes of sound. For instance, in Gryllus bimaculatus (field cricket), the chirping sounds can reach up to 100 decibels, while Gryllotalpa vineae (mole cricket) chirps at about 88 decibels.

---

Crickets do chirp very loudly -- sound pressure levels have been measured at more than 100 decibels -- yet they don't deafen themselves.