Why do fingernails get ridges?

Vertical nail ridges are fairly common and nothing to worry about. Vertical nail ridges may become more numerous or prominent with age. If your fingernails change color or you develop horizontal nail ridges, tell your doctor. These changes could indicate an underlying health condition.