Why is your funny bone called a funny bone?

The "funny bone" got its nickname because of that funny tingling or prickly feeling you get after you hit it. But your funny bone isn't actually a bone. Running down the inside part of your elbow is the ulnar nerve. The ulnar nerve lets your brain know feeling in your fourth and fifth fingers.