Who is the fastest baseball player in history?

While lacking the metrics available today to confirm, Billy Hamilton is widely considered the fastest player in baseball history. In the modern era, his namesake has held that unofficial honor, although Deion Sanders (4.21 40 yard dash) can stake a legitimate claim as well.