Did the native americans have an alphabet?

A Native American named Sequoyah developed graphic characters representing syllables of the Cherokee language, called syllabary, rather than an alphabet. He completed his syllabary in 1821, which was adopted by the Cherokee Nation, becoming their own writing system.