Why is chess called chess?

Chess got its name from a mispronunciation by British merchants, it was originally called shah (king in Persian), as in Shah mat which means the king is finished. Chess might also be an acronym for Chariot(rook), Horse( knight), Elephant(bishop) and Soldiers(pawns).