How common are hippo attacks?

In 2020, approximately 40 people (mostly fishermen) were attacked by hippos on Lake Naivasha. Hippos kill approximately 500 people every year across Africa. This makes Hippos the world's deadliest mammal, after humans, and nearly twice as deadly as lions.

---

Hippos are some of the deadliest animals in Africa, killing at least 500 people a year.