What are fried green tomatoes?

Fried green tomatoes are a culinary dish usually found in the Southern United States, made from unripe (green) tomatoes coated with cornmeal and fried.

---

Fried green tomatoes are tomatoes picked when they are green before they are ripe. They are sliced and usually breaded in some kind of batter, cornmeal, etc. and fried in a frying pan. Then they are eaten.