What strain is gelato?

Gelato is creamier smoother and denser than ice cream. Gelato uses more milk and less cream, and no egg yolks, like ice cream has. Gelato is only 4 to 9 percent fat and has less air than ice cream and is 10 to 15 degrees warmer than ice cream, so the mouth is less numb and better able to taste it.