Who was the first woman to run for president?

According to History.com, in 1872, Ohio native Victoria Woodhull made history when she ran as the Equal Rights Party candidate against incumbent President Ulysses S. Grant. Her platform included such progressive reforms as an eight-hour workday, women’s suffrage and an end to the death penalty.

---

Victoria, Claflin, Woodhull, was the the first female presidential candidate in 1872, , from the Equal Rights Party. She ran against Ulysses S. Grant, and Horace Greely.