What is s. c. p. six eighty two?

Special Containment Project-682 is a large, vaguely reptile-like creature of unknown origin. It cannot be destroyed, but can mostly be kept under control by continually damaging it by immersion in an acid bath. It seeks to destroy all life it encounters