Why is the abbreviation for pounds l. b. s.?

The word "pound" comes from ancient Roman when the unit of measure was libra pondo, which meant "a pound by weight." The English word "pound" draw from the pondo part of the phrase, according to the BBC. However, the abbreviation "lb" is derived from the libra part of the word.