Are there wildfires in australia?

Yes. Ignition. In recent times most major bush fires have been started in remote areas by dry lightning or by electric power lines being brought down or arcing in high winds.

---

Wildfires, also known as bushfires in Australia, are a common occurrence that can happen by dry lightning and deliberate or accidental arson perpetrated by human beings. As of 2020 record-breaking temperatures and months of severe drought have fuelled a series of massive bushfires across Australia.