Where did the word bedlam come from?

The word bedlam came about as a contraction of the name of a hospital in London. This hospital started out in 1247 as a priory for the order of St. ... After this, any insane asylum or madhouse came to be called bedlam.

---

The term bedlam comes from the name of a hospital in London, "Saint Mary of Bethlehem, " which was devoted to treating the mentally ill in the 1400s.