What happened to ivan the terrible?

Ivan died from a stroke while playing chess with a friend in 1584 at the age of fifty-three. His kingdom passed to his middle son, Feodor who died childless in 1598, plunging Russia into a period of lawlessness and anarchy that came to be known as the 'Time of Troubles'