What did people use before they got toilet paper?

B4 civilization while in the woods, there were leaves, & rubbing on grass. Greeks used small terracotta stones called pessoi, that must have been rough. But truly scary, was Rome where they used communal sponges on a stick. Communal means they all shared these sponges in public toilets. EEWW YUCK