Why did francis scott key write the star spangled banner?

"The Star-Spangled Banner" is the national anthem of the United States. The lyrics come from "the Defence of Fort M'Henry", a poem written by Francis Scott Key after witnessing the bombardment of Fort McHenry by British ships of the Royal Navy during the Battle of Baltimore in the War of 1812.