What flavor is yellow cake?

Yellow cake is usually vanilla flavored, but can also be lemon or orange flavored.

---

Yellow cake uses butter as the fat and calls for whole eggs. The combination of the two creates the batter's signature yellow color, while maintaining a neutral flavor. Also, because of the butter and the egg yolks, yellow cake tastes richer than white cake.