How does a nuclear bomb work?

a fission nuclear bomb such as fat man and little boy works by rapidly combining fissionable radioactive material such as enriched uranium or plutonium to bring the combined mass above a critical limit. at this point rapid chain reactions occur releasing tremendous energy.