Is there a world's fair every year?

Yes; it is held in a different location every year and lasts approximately 3 to 6 months. Expo 2020 is a World Expo to be hosted by Dubai in the United Arab Emirates, opening on October 20th. The Bureau International des Expositions general assembly in Paris awarded Dubai as the host November 2013.