How heavy is a guitar?

The average weight of an electric guitar is between 6 and 12 pounds (3 to 5kgs). Light guitars weight around 8 pounds (3.6 kg) and less. Heavy guitars weigh 9 pounds (4.1 kg) and more. The factors that determine the weight are the type of wood, type of body, hardware, neck type, etc.