What's the size of a platoon?

In the United States Army, platoons are normally composed of 42 soldiers in four squads. There are variations based on the function of the platoon.

---

A platoon is 4 squads: generally 3 rifle squads and 1 weapons squad, normally armed with machine guns and anti-tank weapons. Lieutenants lead most platoons, and the second-in-command is generally a sergeant first class. Company-sized units, 130 to 150 soldiers, are normally commanded by captains.