When was the guitar made?

The first official guitar was believed to be made at the turn of the fifteenth century in Spain. At that time, the guitar was called a "vihuela," and consisted of four double strings.

---

The earliest extant six-string guitar is believed to have been built in 1779 by Gaetano Vinaccia (1759 – after 1831) in Naples, Italy