How can you tell if a butterfly is a boy or a girl?

Males tend to have a more slender abdomen and females tend to have larger rounded abdomens. Some species can be identified by differences in the shape of the forewings. Hairstreaks are a good example of this, males have triangular forewings and females' forewings have a more rounded shape.