Where did the soldiers of ancient rome get their weapons in armor?

The Roman Army issued standard weapons and equipment. Soldiers were paid a salary, about 20% was retained to cover costs of weapons, equipment, uniforms, food, and costs of maintenance and replacement. If a soldier lost or damaged gear as result negligence or incompetence, he paid for replacements.