What is the meaning of not consistent?

Not consistent is to be erratic or not being regular in pattern. The potholes jarred my car as they were not consistent with the smooth road that came before them. Also, As a manager my boss is not very consistent. He is mostly mild-mannered, but some days he blows his stack for no reason!