Why are fire fire engines red?

The fire engines are red because red remains by far the most popular color for fire trucks and a variety of other emergency vehicles.

---

They have 8 wheels and 4 people on them, 4 plus 8 makes 12, theres 12 inches in a foot, which is a ruler; Queen Elizabeth was a ruler, and a ship, the ship sailed the seas, and there were fish with fins, and the Finns fought the Russians; fire trucks are always Russian around; the Russians are red