What is an auto cannon?

An autocannon or automatic cannon is a large, fully automatic, rapid fire projectile weapon that fires armour piercing and or explosive shells, as opposed to the bullet fired by a machine gun. Autocannons have a longer range and a larger calibre than machine guns.