How long do fresh green beans need to cook?

Place green beans into a large skillet and cover with water; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until beans start to soften, about 5 minutes. Drain water. Stir 3 cloves garlic with green beans until garlic is tender and fragrant, 3 to 4 minutes. Season with lemon pepper and salt.