What's the function of a mitochondria?

Mitochondria are membrane-bound cell organelles (mitochondrion, singular) that generate most of the chemical energy needed to power the cell's biochemical reactions.

---

Mitochondria are often referred to as the powerhouses of the cell. They help turn the energy we take from food into energy that the cell can use. Mitochondria are also involved in other tasks, such as signaling between cells and cell death, otherwise known as apoptosis.