What is eight simple rules?

8 Simple Rules (also known as 8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter) is an American sitcom television series starring John Ritter and Katey Sagal as middle-class parents Paul and Cate Hennessy, raising their three children. The series ran on ABC from September 17, 2002, to April 15, 2005.