What does p. e. n. s. i. e. v. e. spell?

Pensieve is a play on words. 1) "Pensieve" is a homonym for English word pensive. 2) The word Pensieve is formed from the Latin pens+English sieve. Per H P-Lexicon.org. A pensieve is a magical item in Harry Potter books used to gather & process memories, or remove the burden of excess memories.

---

Pensieve. A Pensieve is a wide and shallow dish made of metal or stone, often elaborately decorated or inlaid with precious stones, and carrying powerful and complex enchantments.