What was the first known civilization?

Sumer, in Mesopotamia, is the 1st known complex civilization, developing the 1st city-states in the 4th millennium BCE. It was in these cities that the earliest known form of writing, cuneiform script, appeared around 3000 BCE. the area is now southern Iraq, from around Baghdad to the Persian Gulf.