What are magnets attracted to?

Magnets are attracted to ferrous metals such as iron, cobalt, nickel, and steel. Steel is mostly iron, unless it is stainless steel. In pure states, metals such as aluminum, brass, copper, gold, lead and silver do not attract magnets unless mixed with a ferrous metal to add strength.