Why do auctioneers talk fast?

Auctioneers talk fast so they can auction off more items in a short period of time. The speed is intended to give the buyer a sense of urgency. They attempt to hook the buyers with the rhythm of their speech pattern, so they are more likely to want to participate by placing a bid.