How do you get a ladder in animal crossing?

To get the Ladder, you must progress through Tom Nook's tasks of paying off your tent payment and building your home, building Nook's Cranny, and then a bridge to start work on the three villager homes that need furnishing.

---

There are three ways to get a ladder in Animal Crossing. Either invite at least one new villager to your island, wait for Tom Nook to offer you a construction kit, or prepare plots for your new incoming residents.