What kind of car was the original batmobile?

1955 Lincoln Futura concept car

---

Driven by the legendary Adam West and lightyears ahead of its 1940s counterparts, the 1966 Batmobile was based on the 1955 Lincoln Futura concept car. The car was owned and customized by renowned designer George Barris, who'd bought it from Ford for a dollar.