Is there such thing as dry lightning?

Yes. In some cases, the rain from a thunderstorm evaporates before it reaches the ground. Lightning from these storms is called "dry lightning". Also, some lightning can travel many miles from a thunderstorm and strike out of a cloudless sky, giving rise to the term "bolt from the blue".