What is the difference between a regular beer and an ipa?

An IPA beer is Indian Pale Ale or India Pale Ale. It was first brewed in colonial times to survive the long sea voyages between England and India. Regular beer is usually darker in color and made with fewer hops. Ales traditionally have more hops than beers. With all the craft beers take your choice