Why does corn grow hair?

Corn "silk" is the stamen of the female corn flower, elongated so that it sticks outside of the husk. That allows the individual flowers to be fertilized even though they are still inside the husk. Once the silk is brushed with pollen, it carries it to the flower, which ripens into a fruit.