What is distilled vodka?

Vodka is made from starchy vegetables such as potatoes. They are mixed in a mash and allowed to ferment by adding yeast which turns the sugar from starch into alcohol. The mash is then distilled to separate the alcohol from the mash. Vodka can be distilled twice.