Where does vanilla grow?

Vanilla comes from orchids of the genus Vanilla. While the major species of vanilla orchids are now grown around the world, they originally came from Mesoamerica, including parts of modern day Mexico and Guatemala. The vanilla orchid is a vine-like plant that grows up trees.