What does mercury retrograde mean?

3 or 4 times a year planet Mercury is said to go retrograde which means it moves in an opposite direction to planet Earth. The same thing happens when our planet passes Mercury in our orbit around the sun. Mercury is just moving slower than Earth, causing the illusion that it's moving in retrograde.