What does mercury retrograde mean?

3 or 4 times a year planet Mercury is said to go retrograde which means it moves in an opposite direction to planet Earth. The same thing happens when our planet passes Mercury in our orbit around the sun. Mercury is just moving slower than Earth, causing the illusion that it's moving in retrograde.

---

Beause Mercury is the planet said to rule communication, those who are astrologically inclined expect frequent misunderstandings, scheduling problems and disagreements with friends during this period. It means Mercury will look like it is doing a zigzag in the sky.