What is sodium hexafluoride?

Sulfur hexafluoride, or SF6 as it’s usually named, is a heavy, inert, nontoxic and incombustible gas. Its main uses are as an insulation medium in electrical transmittance systems, making an inert cover, or simply for displacing the gas mixtures in metals smelting.