What year was the challenger?

The Challenger Disaster was during the 10th flight of the Challenger space shuttle, on January 28, 1986.

---

1986. On January 28, 1986, the NASA Space Shuttle orbiter undertaking mission STS-51-L and the tenth flight of Space Shuttle Challenger broke apart 73 seconds into its flight, killing all seven crew members