When's the last time an asteroid hit earth?

When asteroids, or more commonly, pieces of asteroids and comets, pass through earth's atmosphere and hit the surface, they are called meteorites. It has been estimated that many thousands of meteorites, in many different sizes, hit the earth's surface every year.