Tell me about the wooly worm?

Wooly worms are hairy dark brown caterpillars with tan middle sections that arrive twice a year but are most frequently seen in autumn as they find spots under fallen leaves to wait out the winter and are able to withstand freezing temperatures but they can’t predict the length of winter.