How old do you have to be to be a freshman in high school?

In most states, there is no age requirement or limit to be enrolled as a high school freshman. Students can skip to their freshman year, or be held back if they fail to pass the school year. On average, a high school freshman is 14 or 15 years old.

---

In high school, a freshman is typically 14 to 15 years of age.